To Understand Design

To understand the meaning of design is… to understand the part form and content play… and to realize that design is also commentary, opinion, a point of view, and social responsibility.

To design is much more than simply to assemble, to order, or even to edit; it is to add value and meaning, to illuminate, to simplify, to clarify, to modify, to dignify, to dramatize, to persuade, and perhaps even to amuse. Design is both a verb and a noun. It is the beginning as well as the end, the process and product of imagination.

— Paul Rand

2 thoughts on “To Understand Design

  1. Hi Kate,

    I bought a couple of pieces from you last fall. I emailed you awhile back, but didn’t hear back from you. I was wondering if you were still interested in doing those two pieces for me. I love your artwork and really would like to add to my collection. I can pay you via Paypal or mail a check if you prefer. Please email when you have a chance.

    Eve San Nicolas

    • eve–yes yes yes yes! i am so sorry it totally dropped out…….I am on it! I’ll get my butt in the studio and send them to you asap. I’ll send pics of the 2nd opened ended piece to you before sending it to make sure you like the. the other one is pretty clear. hope all’s well with you!

Leave a Reply

