Something about money

I hadn’t eaten all day. Thinking how I wanted something to eat I started going through a menu of possibilities in my head as I drove by resteraunts and shops on my way home. Nothing captured my attention. No…um no….no…..I thought…..I drove by a bagel shop, Barbette, and then approaches the last place on my way home, Lunds, (a local small grocery store). I decided to go home without stopping for anything, in fact, not eating. This made me think–hmmm. I was hungry but still I chose to not eat.

So….What’s interesting here to me? I’ve been in places in my life, not so long ago,  where I was totally broke. To the point when I didn’t have money to stop and get food whenever I felt hungry. I thought back on that time, desperately waiting for the scraps from a friends’ sandwich.

I thought about how having money and credit to buy what I wanted, actually gave me the freedom to not spending any of it! I remember that knawing desperate feeling, loud hungry, emptying into a pit in my stomach driving me crazy with desire.

I thought how having the money to buy what i wanted actually gave me the freedom to not want anything. When I was broke I wanted IT more—-so much so that it hurt. Knowing I had a choice really changed the experience. I felt so grateful, and at the same time, so scared to be in that place again. I have decided to purge–purge and lighten the load. Sell things, give things away, consume less, enjoy more experiences. See old friends, share with them the things they have taught me.

minneapolis4_25

6 thoughts on “Something about money

  1. Hmmm, when broke, you wanted “it” more. Reminds me of a time when I had just a little food at home, and my rent was due, and I didn’t know how…or what…or when. Then I opened up the mailbox, and my tax refund check was there. Just enough to cover. And I felt overwhelmed with grace and appreciation.
    I’d like to keep the freedom to choose, and the appreciating. A spiritual practice.

Leave a Reply

