Looking fear in the face

I gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which I must stop and look fear in the face…I say to myself, I’ve lived through this and can take the next thing that comes along.

-Eleanor Roosevelt

The only way out is through I often say to myself. It’s my mantra. There seems to be a never-ending list of experiences to face and I spend a great deal of self-critical face time. I have two very good friends moving this month out-of-state and out of the country. I can’t help by feel sorry for my loss–the ability to call then up for a spontaneous outing to hear music, nosh great food at a hole-in-the- wall eatery, or just walk around the lake to talk about life’s challenges. It’s so nice to have those persons here by your side. Warriors beside you…celebrating triumphs and processing defeats. It happens to me all to often these kindred spirits, these friends of mine, walk beside me for much too short of of time before one of us had taken flight again. Off to write new chapters. I think of the new warriors who will soon cross my path and bring me new ways to looks at the world and wonder who they will be, what they will teach me and how long they will stay. I’ve asked the universe to bring me wisdom in a mentor.

3 thoughts on “Looking fear in the face

Leave a Reply

