A beautiful weekend in Minneapolis for Art-a-Whirl

Casket Arts Building/Art-a-Whirl weekend [photo by Kate Pabst]

Ahhhh… another art-a-whirl event passes in Minneapolis Art scene.

It was a blast visiting old friends, chatting up a storm and seeing great art on Friday eve, (i took the evening off from being in my studio to be inspired by others and inspired i was!)……displaying my art in my studio in the Casket Arts building on Saturday and Sunday. The weather was perfect—blue skies, cool temps and tons of people out.

Art-a-Whirl is an annual art crawl in NE Minneapolis. Artists in the main art buildings open their studios to show, talk about and sell their art. Northeast Minneapolis galleries also have special events to celebrate this spring fling.

There are several main buildings in the same proximity in NE Minneapolis that have been converted over the years to artist work spaces, from old warehouses (Casket Arts Building, California Building, Northrup King Building, Thorp to name a few). It’s a fantastic way to build art communities and make it easy to display art for art buyers. It’s fun to see all the other spaces I drive by everyday where art is being created that I didn’t know about.

I sold 5 pieces and seem to always be able to turn that around right back into the artists economy buy purchasing as much or more art than I sell. I love that. How’s that for an economic stimulus package, Dub-ya Bush….

Oh…and I managed to squeeze in 18 holes of golf Sunday morning to take in the crisp, fresh morning air.

Thanks friends for reminding me what fills my soul—it’s YOU.

Leave a Reply

