Deepak Chopra, redemption and duality

deepak400.jpg

re·demp·tion [ri-demp-shuhn] Pronunciation KeyShow IPA Pronunciation

–noun

1. an act of redeeming or the state of being redeemed.
2. deliverance; rescue.
3. Theology. deliverance from sin; salvation.
4. atonement for guilt.
5. repurchase, as of something sold.
6. paying off, as of a mortgage, bond, or note.
7. recovery by payment, as of something pledged.
8. conversion of paper money into specie.

[Origin: 1300–50; ME redempcioun (< MF redemption) < LL redémptiōn- (s. of redémptiō), equiv. to L redémpt(us) (ptp. of redimere to redeem) + -iōn- -ion]

I’m reading this book by Deepak Chopra called “How to Know God. The Soul’s Journey Into the Mystery of Mysteries.” My exploration of scientific metaphysics has me put the current metaphysical writing in the marketplace in a different perspective that I had before. There are so many wonderful writers studying the ideas of spirituality and of metaphysics … ideas I discuss to expand my study of sciemtific metaphysics. I in no way intend to Chopra bash (or bash any other writings sharing perspectives)….their views offer much in the way of growth and discovery and I am grateful we are living at a time where there is such of wealth of ideas available to us.

I am noticing in this book by Chopra, like alot of current spiritual writers writing today, a wavering between duality and the acknowledgement of Infinity, Divinity, Spirit (or Oneness). In this book, Chopra describes God as something outside of us and later acknowledges he [God] is the source of all that is. For me, reading his book offers a great study in what is, and what quite isn’t, for me and my study of scientific metaphysics. I don’t claim to have the answers by a long shot, but what I’m noticing is how I can define for myself more readily when there is duality in the language and beliefs of writers. AND how hard it is to describe what is reality, what is God and our never-ending pursuit of enlightenment.

Don’t get me wrong–I love Chopra and all he’s done to bring the subject to many readers in a different point-of-view of most religions traditions. He has me really study what I know spirituality and scientific metaphysics to be. That’s why it’s a practice….and we humans are always grappling with our beliefs and filters. Beliefs and filters that are always changing, shifting, seeing. Chopra brings up many good ideas and ways of looking at things. Our filters…and they are OURS, taint the way we perceive reality.

Chopra says in his book, “Redemption [definition written above] is just another word for calling on your iniate ability to see with the eye of the soul. Two voices are heard in our heads everyday, the one believing in the dark and the other in the light. Only one reality can be really real.” Chopra writes.

I agree that we call upon our inate ability to see with the eye of the soul. This is intuition. This is Truth. This is Love. This is God. But redemption? This would suggest there is something to heal, to fix, to save…This is duality. There is nothing “out there”. Nothing to fix, manipulate, change. It all is perfection functioning, showing up for our growth and acknowledgement the best way we can see it. We are the world we walk through. It constantly unfolds as WE see it….as we are, not as it is. There is nothing to be rescued from (as the definition of redemption suggests)…that would suggest a duality–or a “God” outside of our own being. God, or Source is not seperate from us any more than a drop water in the ocean is seperate from the ocean. I believe there are not two voices heard in our heads as Chopra states, but two interpretations of reality. Interpretations the two legged animals we are readily and instantly provided. The one voice is the voice of Divinity…the all is ALL. The voice of Love, Truth, Spirit. It shows up as good, bad, happy sad, right wrong. We make choices all the time based on what we think is real. Then we assess, judge, manipulate. That voice I hear? That voice is love….it’s the default of life….instantaneous followed by whatever filter I have for the moment. Am I mad about a car that cut me off earilier? …my filter revenge or defense? Am I upset about being passed over for a promotion…my filter anger or victim? The only voices I’d like to think is in my head is “what can i do for others? and “How interesting and beautiful is this planet I have the privilage of experiencing.” Do we walk through life with the wonderment of a child? Open and free? The observer, not the judger?

What is reality? Betty Albee a practitioner and author, in her article called “The Safe and Secure Life” says, “Scientific Metaphysics teaches that the conscious human individual, living himself responsibly, is forever practicing oneness by discerning the spiritual facts of everything confronting him. Appearances, views of reality, are not separate from the allness of Being.”

We are spiritual beings experiencing the physical world in all of its contrast and beauty.

I am so grateful to have writings like this to read and learn from. There is much value in reading current writings. Different perspectives allow me to look. learn and study.

Please, I invite you to weigh in on this subject!

Leave a Reply

