Let’s Talk State Fair Food

superdog400.jpg

I gotta say I can’t wait till the Minnesota State Fair is over. Like a stimulation junkie, I can’t stay away from the lights, the energy, and mostly nasty food. I went 4 times this year…4 times! I had the best watermelon at the fair I can remember having in a long time—seeds and all. [By the way, when did we become so lazy we can’t even deal with seeds in watermelon? The watermelons at the stores are seedless now? I can’t even FIND watermelons with seeds in the stores.] I also had the BEST peach I can remember from the Midtown Global Market booth. What a nice surprise to see them there and the indulge in the biggest and juiciest peach I’ve ever had. I had my usual Corn on the Cob, Cheese Curds (altho I can eat less and less of them every year–why don’t they sell 3 curds), Mini-donuts, salted Nut Roll, Choc. Chip Cookies, Root Beer, Pronto Corn Dog, Pickle on a Stick, 12 foot Hot Dog (ok ok..it really foot long) either way I was embarassed to eat it, Choc. and Milk Shake. New to me this year Clam Strips (way too little for way too much), Fried Onions (big greasy mistake), pretzel and Honey Taffy. I love to watch the people–all making their memories—families, friends, employees, performers, participants…so many different lives coming together for a week….bound by food and lights. I do believe it is true what they say…..there is someone for everyone.

I’m ready to get back to my whole food, clear my brain and drop the 8lbs I put on.

onions400.jpg

photos: Kate Pabst

4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk State Fair Food

  1. i can’t remember the last time I went to a fair. but I think I have gained a few pounds just with my mother’s decadent cooking. we’ve been indulging in bread pudding, heavy cream-filled mashed potatoes, and brownies with black raspberry ice cream.

    bad things to realize you’re lactose intolerant ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. I LOVE the idea of only selling THREE cheese curds!! I too often questioned why they don’t do that… they could just call them ‘tasters.’ A whole order is way too much for any ‘normal’ person! ๐Ÿ™‚ Don’t forget to coat your grilled corn with lime juice, seasoning and parmesan. Yum!

Leave a Reply

