A vinyl hankering, Little Feat, Ella Fitzgerald, Pet Shop Boys, Annie Lennox and Arlo Guthrie

hifidelityheaven1.jpg

…and then some. Who knew you could still buy a personal turntable?! I didn’t, until I finally had it with the screechie-high-pitched-shrill-bring-the-dogs-running tinny sound of mp3s and mp4s downloaded from iTunes and new cds. Craving my pops and skips, I dusted off my trusty Technics (complete with a brand new needle…20 years ago) and made my way to the Disk Doctor. A burned out motor later, I left with my dusty box in search of a decent cheap replacement.

I pulled out my dusty receiver from the basement, 2 weeks later I’m happily listening to the 2 crates of albums I’ve been dragging around for a couple decades.

Audio-technica 100% plastic (except for the needle). Yep, less than 80 bucks–it ain’t pretty but works. I am flipping and slipping again…..reading album covers and enjoying the forgotten ones. My Little Feat Waiting For Columbus Double album….songs that aren’t on the cd. How sweet it is. The simple things I am grateful for……Let’s talk about the Zen of Vinyl…later.

hifidelityheaven.jpg

2 thoughts on “A vinyl hankering, Little Feat, Ella Fitzgerald, Pet Shop Boys, Annie Lennox and Arlo Guthrie

  1. ahhhh! Johnny Cash! yes……..!! so many GREAT albums on vinyl. Johnny Cash isn’t the same on cds…without the pops. You can get a new one for 75 bucks—check the link in my original post–it works great.

Leave a Reply

