It’s all about the good times…and the things you don’t know about people

One of the reasons I started this blog was to write about food and enjoying time with friends over food. Really…there’s nothing like spending some quality time with people over a meal.

I had such a time last night over an extended 4-hour dinner at the Chambers Kitchen in Minneapolis. We had the 6-course tasting menu – you can read my review of it here.

But this post is not about the food for once. It’s about the people I shared it with last night. They ROCK!

First of all, our group of 15 or so people where seated on the other side of the building away from the restaurant in one of the art galleries. It was all a little bizarre. It felt a little like a board room with art on only one wall. But it was nice to have our own space.

Meanwhile, we’re all relaxing and having a good time chatting – then someone announces that we should go around the table and introduce ourselves because most likely not everyone knows everyone. Then someone else chimed in and said we should say something about ourselves that everyone here doesn’t know about you.

You wouldn’t believe the things I heard last night! Seriously – rolling on the floor laughing!

Someone collects Hard Rock Cafe guitar pins, someone else has an 11th fingernail, another person at one point got kicked out of high school a couple of times (I’m still in shock over what it was for so I’m not going to mention it) and THEN got high school to pay for college, someone else can read palms (I know! Cool! – btw I’m psychic or at least have a good intuition), someone’s first car was an ’88 Sprint, and someone else sings at weddings.

It’s amazing how cool people are when you give them the chance to share something about themselves.

We spent the next 2-3 hours sharing things about ourselves – like the first concert you ever went to (mine was Michael Damien, the soapstar from Young and the Restless – yep, I know) and supernatural occurances that you’ve witnessed.

It was so much fun. I’ve made it a point to make sure we do something like this everytime we get together.

Try it out – you will be guaranteed a good time.

4 thoughts on “It’s all about the good times…and the things you don’t know about people

  1. Sounds like fun to me! Too often, depending on what “circle” of our lives we’re socializing in at a particular time, we get stuck going around and around in there. Like my musician friends don’t really know about my “metaphysical” pursuits; my “metaphysical” group doesn’t know I’m passionate about baseball; and my “church” friends don’t see a lot of that, either. It’s fun discovering people; this is why I love the randomness of flying. The universe puts people in the seats next to you, and you choose to either talk to them or not. I’ve met some great ones in airports!

  2. excellent observation. i’ve learned in the past few years that you don’t have to be one way with certain people and another way with other people.

    i’m sure your musician friends would be more than interested in your metaphysical pursuits and that your metaphysical friends would be intrigued to find out you’re a baseball fan.

    try it on and let it work!

  3. Yes, I do tend to be pretty open with everyone, and I find that there are people who just take it all in stride, and then there are those who can’t get their minds stretched out enough to understand that there is more than one way to reach a particular goal. So there are those in church who know about my Reiki and “Soul Essence”, and musicians who are dipping into my crystal and metaphysics stuff, and on and on. Your true friends are the ones who take you for who you are, all parts, regardless of their own views. Thanks for the reminder!

  4. You’ve got my brain thinking even more now. 🙂

    It can be very hard to share with people – and ever harder to share with people close to you (“you” meaning “one”). But I’ve found that once I’ve gotten it out of my head and into words, the value is so much greater.

    I’ve been meaning to post about the power of words and it seems very timely. Look for it soon and please comment on what you think.

Leave a Reply

