Smiling tree

Breathe deep. The universe smiles all around you. I have always had a connection to trees. They live and breathe for me no different than humans…except they have more wisdom generally. Cut a tree and I almost cry. It’s much like cutting into the arm or leg of a person. I stop regularly to scold people stapleing garage sale signs into trees, boys hitting trees with batting practice, and people just generally abusing trees. Trees talk to me, they shelter me, they sooth me, they are my church. I measure a culture by how it treats, respects and protects it’s trees–national forests, parks, neighborhoods. Breathe deep. We have the trees to thank for that sweetness. Protect them..they are doing their very best to keep us alive.

birchsmile400.jpg
©kate pabst 2006. all rights reserved

 

Leave a Reply

