Do you look at the people driving by in other cars? This could happen to you.

I was driving down the freeway yesterday on a beautiful fall Minneapolis Sunday. I happened to be with a friend of mine. We were on our way to IKEA – we had a nice little Sunday planned out.

Before I realized it, we’re both looking at a 20-something male driving a Jeep Cherokee drive by us. Since I was driving, I didn’t notice what happened next, but my friend did.

I only noticed that after I looked back at the road in front of me, the Jeep driver tore off and gunned it. I thought that was strange.

Apparently that driver mouthed, “What the fu** are you looking at?” to [me and] my friend. I’m not quite sure I understand what happened.

My response: “Man, that kid’s got some issues.”

2 thoughts on “Do you look at the people driving by in other cars? This could happen to you.

  1. and this is just a “mild” example… road-rage incidents and other “rage” modalities are apparently on the increase throughout our civilised, modern, Western culture… lots more to look forward too, apparently. 😉

  2. It’s really scary, isn’t it? I have to remind myself not to be afraid everytime I step out of my house. (Well, that’s going a bit too far but you get the idea.)

    I was once told: “A courteous driver is a safe driver.” I scoffed at that – especially once I moved to Minneapolis where everyone drives like a moron.

    I guess we just have to be present to what is going on – that way we’ll always be aware.

Leave a Reply

