I’m just as bad as the people talking on their cell phones while driving. Or worse.

Last week on my way home from work, I decided to try a little experiment: count how many people I see talking on their cell phones while driving. It takes me about 20 minutes to get home from work, and I started this close to halfway home.

I was on the freeway while I started counting. It was pretty easy. 1 – 2 – 3. Right away. Then…a lull.

I thought, “Maybe there really aren’t as many people who talk on their cell phones while driving as I thought there were. They just happened to stand out because they occasionally drove off the road or deserved a thumbs down.”

About 3 minutes after I started this little game (I was up to 6), I realized I was having a hard time keeping up with all the cars around me. I was spending so much time looking to my left and to my right, that I was NOT paying attention to what was in front of me at all.

I almost got into 3 accidents on the way home. I started thinking, “I’m worse than the people I’m trying to prove a point to!” I felt awful.

I felt there was no way I could keep up with proving my point – especially since I was endangering my life and everyone around me.

Woe is me.

Leave a Reply

